Skip to content

DIY Halloween Wreath

October 5, 2011

I’ve seen several varieties of yarn wreaths and felt flowers floating around the internet, so I decided to combine the two and make a Halloween wreath.

Normally, I just put up regular fall decorations for almost the entire months of October and November, but this year, I thought I would do something different and make some more Halloween specific things (cutesy Halloween, though, no scary stuff) and put them up in October.  Then after Halloween, transition to more fall/Thanksgiving decorations.  So far, so good.  The Halloween wreath was one of the first things that I made and it wasn’t too hard to do.

First, gather your supplies.  I got all of these things at my neighborhood Michael’s, so none of them should be too hard to find.  You will need: 1.) Styrofoam wreath base, 2.) yarn to wrap the wreath base with, 3.) different colors of felt for your flowers, 4.) ribbon to hang the wreath with and 5.) embroidery floss for flowers (optional, I ended up not using this after all).

I also used a needle and thread to construct most of my flowers (instead of hot glue) and used straight pins to attach the flowers to the wreath.

Begin by wrapping your yarn around your wreath base in alternating sections.  (Or, if you want it all one color, just wrap one color around your base.)  I just knotted mine when I began and ended each section.

When you get finished, it should look like this.  At this point, Clint came home and we had the following converation:

Clint: “Why are you making a steering wheel?”

Me: “I’m not.”

Clint: “A life preserver?”

Don’t worry, it will look better once you get the flowers on it.  :)

To make the flowers, I used some tutorials that I found online and then just made some others up:

Dahlias

Smaller Flowers

Mums

Once I had my flowers finished, I just played around with the positioning and pinned them on with straight pins.  The beauty of this is that you can just unpin and reuse them on something else later if you want.  Just make a loop with your ribbon to hang the wreath with and then you are done!

One of my friends also pointed out that this could serve double duty as an Ensworth spirit wreath, which made me think that it would be really cute made up in your team’s colors for football season.  I’m also toying with the idea of making a smaller one with a solid color on the base and different colored dahlias and mums for later fall.  We’ll see how that goes!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Adie permalink
    July 30, 2013 9:51 pm

    How did you make the pom pom looking flowers??

  2. August 15, 2013 10:36 am

    I absolutely love this! So cute, but also a little “Halloween Elegance” (if there is such a thing)

  3. marsha permalink
    September 2, 2013 9:19 am

    I love this. I can’t wait to go to my local Michaels and purchase the supplies. Thank you for sharing.

  4. brittany permalink
    September 23, 2013 7:59 pm

    Hi, I just saw this on pinterest. You have a black and white flower on the bottom left. Do you have the tutorial on this one? Thank you so much! I can’t wait to get started on mine!!

Trackbacks

  1. Halloween Decorations « Handmade Grace
  2. DIY Halloween Wreath Ideas | Whatsername Jewelry

Leave a Reply

