Skip to content

Simplicity 2177

November 15, 2011

AKA the Mad Men Dress

I was very pleasantly surprised by this pattern.  I think it is a really good cut for me and a great dress for multiple seasons and occasions.  The photo on the pattern envelope doesn’t really do it justice, but I was more intrigued by the line drawing.  I made View A earlier this summer in a bright stretch cotton and liked it so much that I wanted to make it again.  I found some great animal print fabric and it had been on my list for things to make this fall.  Then, I got invited to a Mad Men themed birthday party and realized it would be perfect for that.

Here is a closer view of the bodice.  This pattern has some really interesting lines that probably show up better on a solid (unfortunately, some are lost on this print).

The only modifications/alterations that I made were to bring it in a bit at the back neckline (The first time I made it, I thought it gaped a little) and a slight swayback alteration in the back waist seam.  If I make it again, I’ll probably also stabilize the neckline with some twill tape.  Even though I stay stitched it before adding the facing, it still didn’t want to lay exactly flat.

I also really liked how this pattern is finished on the inside.  Even though it is unlined, the use of facings and bias tape (and a serger) make it nice and neat.

A picture of me at the party…

p.s. How do you like my hair, ha!  I feel like I look like one of my grandmothers

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Little Lady permalink
    November 15, 2011 8:41 pm

    You two could BE on Mad Men! That dress and your hair rule.

  2. Cindi permalink
    November 22, 2011 2:47 pm

    You looked amazing and thanks to you, my hair was, too.

Leave a Reply

