Skip to content

DIY Magnolia Leaf Wreath

December 16, 2011

Over Thanksgiving, I made a couple of magnolia leaf wreaths for my Mother to decorate at my parents’ Thanksgiving dinner.  They have lots of magnolia trees at their house, so that was very helpful, ha!  For supplies, you will need said magnolia leaves (about 3-4 small bunches), a wire wreath base, floral wire, and wire cutters.

To start, I removed all the individual leaves from the branches and cut several lengths of floral wire about 11 inches long.  I found that it was much easier to work with shorter lengths of wire than trying to wind the entire spool around the leaves and base.

I grouped 3 leaves together and used the floral wire to attach them to the wire base.  Just wind the wire tightly around the base.

Continue with bunching and wrapping the leaves and layering them over each other.  Every so often, I would turn one leaf over to show the brown side for some variation.

Continue around the wreath until you reach your starting point.  Once you near then end, you’ll have to tuck some of the leaves up under your beginning leaves, but this isn’t too difficult.  And there you have it!

I was going to hang these from a loop of ribbon on the door or in front of a window, but I liked them so much laying on the table that I decided to use them as centerpieces.  I places some candles and small gourds inside the wreath.  I think some pumpkins or even small oranges would look great inside the wreath too.

While I used these for Thanksgiving, I think they would also look great for Christmas too.  You could put some read berries in the wreath as well, or even make a version using holly sprigs.  Overall, it was my first time making them and I was really pleased with the result.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Trac permalink
    January 25, 2012 10:27 am

    How nice! We have a magnolia tree and I’ve been looking for a way to make wreath and centerpieces. This is creative and straightforward – yet stunning!

  2. Brenda Meadows permalink
    July 15, 2013 12:35 pm

    Very pretty. My daughter is getting married in December. We would like to make smaller versions of the wreath for the aisles. We love the green, but are wondering how long the green will stay pretty? How far ahead of time could we make the wreaths and they still be pretty? Is there anything we could maybe spray on them to keep them from turning brown ? We have thought about just painting them gold, but we really love the green. Thank you for any help.

Leave a Reply

