Skip to content

Nail Polish Organization

February 13, 2013

I recently decided to organize my nail polish collection, and I came up with a system that I really like.  I had a similar system before, but I refined it with a couple of tweaks this time.  My main objectives were to help me decide which polish I wanted to use and then being able to find that polish quickly.

Nail Polish Organization

Nail Polish Storage

I first started by dividing up my polishes into like color groups.  Using a package of nail art wheels from Sally, I labeled each of the wheels with the color group and then numbered the back of each nail with a Sharpie.  Then, I painted each nail with a single polish.

Nail Polish Organization Wheel

For the labels, I printed all the numbers that I had spaces/nails for on a full label sheet.  I cut those into strips and then punched out small circles using a paper punch that I got at Michael’s (in the dollar area).

Nail Polish Organization Labels

Then, I put the corresponding number sticker on the top of the polish bottle.  I store my polishes in two plastic containers, so this made it easier to find them when looking from the top.  (In my previous system, I had relied on a list with the polish name, but found that I was having to lift each polish out to check the name on the bottom.)

Nail Polish Organization Labels Detail

So far, this system is working great.  It allows me to “try on” all the polishes in a specific color group to find the one that I want, and then find the polish bottle that I decide to use quickly.

Some observations about my polish collection:

1.) I think dark pink and bright orange polishes are my favorite.  They make me happy.  :)

2.) I was surprised at how many blue and green polishes I had since I rarely wear those.  Granted, most of them are the Sinful brand that I got for $.99.

3.) My largest color group was burgundy.  I obviously came of age during the time of Chanel Vamp and love me some dark polish in the fall/winter.

4.) I love having my nails painted and might have a slight addiction to nail polish.  :)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindi permalink
    February 13, 2013 2:26 pm

    THis makes me really happy. It makes me want to organize mine, but not in this much detail :). I probably have a 1/3 of what you own. Ha! Ready to do some nails?!

  2. Must Have Boxes permalink
    February 13, 2013 6:50 pm

    WOW! You are crazy organized. I’m inspired.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com/

  3. Mary permalink
    September 15, 2013 7:15 pm

    This is a great system. I might have to do this instead of a spreadsheet. I don’t want to type out all those names!

Leave a Reply

